New Year, New Country?

I never shared my Mexico adventures with you, and I’m sorry I didn’t. Because really, it’s the reason I decided to pick up and move to Costa Rica.

13094132_10208431422495515_1688181996511715085_n

When I got back to the “real world” after 2 weeks in Mexico, I decided the real world wasn’t for me. I was sitting in front of my computer at work one night and started looking into teaching broad. I’m already in the education field, and I knew teaching English would be the easiest ticket to making money while living abroad. So I came across TEFL heaven, and 6 months later, I find myself in heaven.

Even after being accepted into the program, there was still some hesitancy. I wasn’t exactly sure I’d be making the move. “OK, I got in. Now I just gotta put down the deposit” I thought to myself. Yet, months later I still hadn’t done so. But I was paying attention to the universe.

20170301_132127

Costa Rica started popping up in random conversation more often. The idea of living my life behind a desk in New York City where I was born and raised was making me cringe. Not being able to afford my own apartment, having to ride the subway train packed with people I convinced myself I hated and the stress of the presidential elections was enough for me to make the jump. And if I considered leaving if Hillary took office, I knew I was leaving if Donald Trump did.

Now here we are, January 2017. Just 2 days after Donald Trump’s inauguration and I’m sitting in the kitchen of my one bedroom apartment in the beach community of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica surrounded by LIFE. REAL LIFE.

In just 24 hours I’ve seen a variety of birds, lizards, and monkeys right in my backyard. The beach is a 10 minute walk up, then down, the mountain. I start classes for the TEFL certification tomorrow morning at Maximo Nivel, a 5 minute hike away, and to top it off, I get to experience it all with Su 🙂

20170206_141350.jpg

It’s going to be an amazing year ❤

 

6 thoughts on “New Year, New Country?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

